Whatsapp is the most widely used chat messenger which was launched in 2009 by Brian Acton and Jan Koum .This Facebook owned app has witnessed no. of upgrades post its launch. Numerous new features like blue tick, file sharing, sending locations, everyday status have already made it most preferred amongst the user. But the most awaited and talked about feature has finally been launched. The new feature ” Delete for Everyone” will now enable the users to delete the sent messages not only from their but also from receiver’s cell phone. Using this feature we can recall messages from one to one as well as group chats.
How to use this feature?
- This feature is available only on the latest version of whatsapp. So, you need to make sure that you have the updated version.
- Both the sender and receiver must have the updated version for this feature to work.
- To delete a message, just long press the message and hit delete/trash button from top.
- This would give three options- “Delete for Everyone” , “Delete for me” and Cancel.
- “Delete for me” will just delete the message from your own cellphone while ” Delete for Everyone” will remove it from receiver’s phone as well.
- Once a message is deleted using ” Delete for Everyone” it will be replaced by informational message stating ” This Message was deleted”.
- This informational message will be visible on receiver’s cellphone as well, so recipient will also be aware if sender deletes a message.
- This feature comes with 7 minute limit.
7 minute limit for “Delete for Everyone”
The user will have to act pretty swiftly if they want to delete any sent messages as this new feature will let the messages to be deleted only within first 7 minutes once sent. Post 7 minutes this new feature will be disabled and all you will see is ” Delete for me” option.
This feature is available for all platforms be it Android, iPhone or Windows.